Fall has Arrived… Let the Leaves Fall

topperMiddle

Upcoming Important Dates

Monday, September 29 – Support Services Meeting 8:30 am
Monday – Friday, September 29 – October 3 – NWEA Testing for 6th Grade
Tuesday, September 30 – Meet the Candidates Night 6:00 pm GMS Cafeteria
Wednesday, October 1 – Faculty Meeting GMS Library, 2:20 – 4:00pm
Monday, September 6 – Support Services Meeting 8:30 am
Wednesday, October 8 – Leadership Team Meeting, Melanie’s room 2:30 pm
Thursday, October 9 – PIE Meeting GMS Library 6:00 pm
Monday, October 13 – Columbus Day Holiday – No School

Faculty Meeting Agenda

As we do  at each of our faculty meetings, we start with food provided by the 7th grade.

  • Celebrations
  • Infinite Campus Questions – Terry LaMontagne
  • Paper Cut questions – Mike Nash
  • Google workshop
  • Other

I remind all to forward to me any questions you have about Infinite Campus. I know there have been concerns about what the parents see, about finding some of the old features to IC that seem to have disappeared with the upgrade. Please send me those questions ASAP so I can get Terry, or someone else working on solutions.

In speaking with Mike Nash, there are some 178 7th & 8th graders not yet up on PaperCut. Now, in my mind, this is not that bad because they cannot print with our getting on PaperCut, so We are saving on printing and paper costs. I suspect, however, that many teachers would like their kids to print some of their “stuff” so it will be important to get these 178 kids up on PaperCut.

Finally, I have received a couple of write ups for activities our faculty would either like to know more about or are willing to share with their peers. If there are others who would like to share their knowledge, please let me know what you’d like to share and I will get it out to the entire faculty. Remember, this is all based in the world of Google.

Young Agriculturists

I am hearing through the grapevine that we have several of our students exhibiting at the Cumberland County Fair this week. I would love to be able to recognize these student farmers within our community. If you have one of your advisees who is exhibiting this week in Cumberland, or next week in Fryeburg, please send their name to me so that I can offer my encouragement.

Huge Thank You to all for the Work on the Lip Dub

I think we all had a great deal of funding this activity, but more importantly, I think we established that at GMS learning can be fun as well as good for you. Pulling something of this magnitude off as smoothly as we did is not an accident. Doing these successfully require a great deal of team work, a great deal of compromise and a great deal of patience and persistence. Each of these attributes are what we work long and hard to develop in our students. This week, all of our students had the opportunity to how it is done!

I am confident that the lessons we taught in each of these areas will help our students become better learners. I am also confident that given the opportunity, many of us would be far more comfortable teaching a traditional lesson, and yet we all persevered to make great memories for our kids.

THANK YOU!

I would also be quite remiss if I didn’t single out Terri Dawson, Angela Gospodarek, Tracy Williamson, Greg Morton and Adam Parvanta, but I am sure they would all say thank you to each of you.

Safety Drills

As I mentioned at our Early Release Day, we will be changing the way we practice our fire drills. Rather than having you passively in your classrooms waiting for us to pull a box, I will go into a class and tell the teacher that there is a fire in your ceiling, or someplace in your room, and then ask you what you do next. It would be very helpful to all of you to located the fire alarm pull boxes in your area, as that would be important to know, because if you are aware of a fire, you should pull the box as you exit the building.

We also need to keep in mind who is in attendance in our classes at the time of the alarm. It would not be very good to send in fire personnel to a burning building looking for a student if it is not necessary. Terry LaMontagne usually has the attendance list out in email form by 9:00 am.

I will be seeking feedback from the staff and our first responders after we have a couple of these type drills.

 ACTEM Conference

Over the past couple of years, we have had several folks attend this conference centered on technology and how it can enhance our classroom practice. This year, the conference, which is always held at the Augusta Civic Center, will be held on Thursday and Friday, October 9 & 10. If you have an interest in attending one of the days, please let me know ASAP. I am attaching a link to the conference here for you to see if there is anything that would interest you.

Richard Byrne will be the day one keynote speaker and, while you may not put the name with anything we have done here at GMS, I can tell you that I have sent many of you to his website for educators, Free Technology for Educators.

Please let me know soon of you interest.

The Video

Of course I couldn’t put out one of these missives without including a video! I wouldn’t want to disappoint anyone.

This is an interview of Sir Ken Robinson done at the TedX in Liverpool, England this past summer. It contains the usual humor of Sir Ken, but it also contains some information about how and why he wrote his book The Element. I am still looking to see if anyone (we’ve a couple of folks interested) in starting a book group using The Element. Just let me know and I will get the books ordered.

Leave a Reply

